March 17 – Last Day in the City

It’s my last day and I should be out already, but I’m tired! We’ve been out all day everyday and into the night all week. Not that I’m giving up, but just slowing down. Yesterday was Dickens Day for us. It’s the 200th anniversary of his birth. I can’t imagine all the writing he did by hand. We are so spoiled now with our electronics. We went to his house and to a museum exhibit about him. Amazing talent and so readable andenjoyable still today. I’m hoping to finish Nicolas Nickleby before I get home.

I bought 2 quill pens to share with my students. We talk about National Handwriting Day and how people used to write with feathers, etc. I’ve had kids write with a feather, then a real ink pen, a ball point and a then a pencil. They think it’s great fun, but they are 5!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie Kaplan
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:38:25

    Wow Dickens 200th Day in London. What a perfect place for celebrating! Wow!
    Bonnie

    Reply

  2. Ramona
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 11:55:54

    Wow, spending Dickens Day in London. What an incredible treat! I find it hard to write when I travel, but I’m always surprised to see people around me who carry a notebook and capture the stray moment for writing. Nothing beats being in the moment for hanging onto memories from travel

    Reply

  3. Lori
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 13:57:51

    We are blessed to write with electronics. I can’t imagine using a pen, let along a quill to write.! Thanks for the reflection. Safe travels home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

