March 5 – Great Day!

Hey, it was a good one! We kept moving all day long. I had one of my students come up to me and say, “I feel like my brain is growing!”. How cool is that! We read a book about such an interesting character, Margaret Knight. She was an inventor and created the machine that made paper bags with flat bottoms so they could stand up. She even had to go to court to fight for her patent. This was all in the 1800’s. Her first big invention was when she was 12 and it was a safety gadget for the textile mills. I never knew about her until today. She had 26 patents. More than you ever wanted to know about someone you never heard of!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy Rush-Levine
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 00:17:58

    Cool facts! I love the brain comment–that is truly the mark of a good day!

    Reply

  2. Catie
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 00:23:57

    Aww! That’s really cute(: Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

