Bucket List – March 4

I’ve not written down a list before, but I have thought of the idea of things I’d like to do before it’s too late (a.k.a. not breathing). One of them is coming true Tuesday, a small one, but still something fun. I finally won Austin City Limits taping tickets. I’ve been trying a year, which I guess is not long compared to other things. But I was beginning to think I would never win!

It reminded me that I’d also like to go see Saturday Night Live taped and I have only sent out one email about that. So I need to keep pursuing it. I’ve watched that show since was a teenager and it would be so cool to actually be there!

It makes me think about how I could pass this on to my students – perserverance. Keep trying. Probably that has come across the most in writing. We do Writer’s Workshop everyday and in the beginning it is so hard for many of them. But it is amazing to see what they are doing now. Almost all of them have the concept of writing sentences with the appropriate format. Not perfect spelling, but very close phonetically. They perservered and it payed off!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MaryHelen
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 22:24:42

    Perserverance is a powerful thing to teach. It goes beyond education into becoming a llfe long learner. So glad your students are learning the value of writing daily. I am sure through the SOLSC you will also be able to share how you have perservered.

    Reply

  2. capewriter
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 23:58:25

    Writing workshop is the true act of persevering with love, grace, and moxie! Keep going with it (and enjoy the progress you’re seeing!) and also continue to pursue bucket list plans to fruition! Awesome — enjoy Austin City Limits :).

    Reply

  3. elsie
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 02:14:52

    I have been trying to convince kindergarten teachers that their students can do workshop. They are doubtful. They need to learn perseverance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

